The critical situation of research funding in today’s Europe is simply all too evident. While the European Commission funds large collaborative networks in applied economics, governments facing austerity have drastically reduced their support to small-scale research programmes.

As stated in the Association’s Statute, STOREP’s main aim is to promote the diffusion and to deepen the understanding of the history of economic thought and political economy, also through the institution of research grants. But STOREP has always been a home for scholars willing to adopt an interdisciplinary perspective while working on the frontier of economics, as well as, in general, for heterodox economists.

Aware of the difficulties STOREP members encounter, due to lack of financial resources, even in presenting their own researches at the Annual Conference, the Executive Committee decided for the launch, in 2016, of a series of grants (two annual grants of 2,000 EUR each, funded from the budget) – called “STOREPgrants” – for innovative small-scale research projects.

The research grants are provided for STOREP members who are planning:

  • a research project in the history of political economy, the history of economic thought, and the history of economics,
  • a research project exploring economic issues on an interdisciplinary basis,
  • or, finally, a research project explicitly promoting heterodox approaches to economic theory.

Awards recipients must commit themselves to publicly illustrate the results of their research by presenting a full paper in the coming STOREP Conferences, and to submit it for publication in the STOREPapers Series.

Winners receive 50% of the funding when the proposal is accepted, and 50% after submitting their paper for presentation in the STOREP Annual Conference.

The call for application is disseminated on occasion of the Annual Conference, while the deadline for submitting proposals is normally mid October.

Proposals are scrutinized on their quality and relevance by a selection committee composed of three members nominated by the Executive Committee, avoiding any conflict of interest. In the event that the selection committee considers none of the proposal worthy of funding, the grant budget is retained for the next year.


Winning recipients

2016, Paolo Silvestri, Università di Torino, “Theories of Tax Justice: Between Exchange and Gift