Young Scholars Awards at 2018 Annual Meeting of the History of Economics Society

The History of Economics Society (HES) provides support for several Warren J. and Sylvia J. Samuels Young Scholars to present papers at the conference, in the form of free registration, banquet and reception tickets. Some of the Young Scholars awardees will also receive a grant of $600 to cover travel and other costs.

Those who wish to have their paper considered for the Young Scholars program must provide
1) A short abstract of the paper (one paragraph)
2) A two page summary of the paper
3) An indication of current or recent graduate student status (CV)
When submitting paper proposal one must indicate that s/he wishes to be considered for the Samuels Young Scholars program. A Young Scholar must be a current PhD candidate, or have been awarded a PhD in 2016 or later.

The conference committee (Joe Persky, UIC and John Berdell, DePaul) prefer correspondence and proposals for papers or sessions to be sent to: (HES2018 in the subject line).

The DEADLINE for submissions is February 28 2018.
The early registration deadline is March 31.

The program will include plenary addresses by Anwar Shaikh of the New School (Capitalism: Competition, Conflict, Crises. Oxford 2016) and Douglas Irwin of Dartmouth (Clashing over Commerce: A History of US Trade Policy. University of Chicago Press 2017) and the Presidential Address by Evelyn Forget of Manitoba.

Information on cultural events may be found at